The Launceston Pacing Club (LPC) conducts race meetings all year round at the picturesque Mowbray Racing Centre, Mowbray. Race meetings are held on a modern 1018 metre track recognised as the equal to any in Australasia.
Following its inception in 1917, the Easter Cup has remained one of the richest Standardbred races in northern Tasmania and remains the highlight of the Launceston Pacing Club’s year as a pacing event proudly steeped in tradition.
The facilities are complemented by the sumptuous cuisine in our restaurant on the third level of the complex, which offers a bird’s eye view of the harness track. For children, the expansive lawns and gardens adjacent to the track are a joy to play on.
The Launceston Pacing Club Inc was established in 1978 following a merger between the Northern Tasmanian Trotting Club and the Danbury Park Trotting Club.
The first Easter Cup held at the Mowbray racecourse was conducted on Saturday 18 April and was won by Quite Famous who was trained and driven by J. O'Sullivan.