The Launceston Greyhound Racing Club (LGRC) earned a reputation as one of the state's most progressive clubs with its former home at White City at Invermay from 1932-2004 considered by many as one of the best venues in Australia.
A move to the tri-code complex at Mowbray in December 2004 was the start of a new era for the club and today it hosts the state heats and finals of the National Sprint and Distance Championships as well as boasting some of the best greyhound racing in Tasmania.
The Group 2 Launceston Cup is run in February and is run over two weeks comprising heats and semi-finals into a final that often boasts some of the best sprinting chasers in Australia.
Other feature races that attract star performers are the Illingworth Classic and the Tasmanian Derby and Oaks.
Race day admission is free.
The Illingworth name is synonymous with greyhound racing in Tasmania and father and son Ollie and Des Illingworth are members of the Tasmanian Greyhound Hall Of Fame.
Oliver James Illingworth was born February 4 1895 in Launceston. He lived the majority of his life at 19 Penquite Road, Newstead, the house and kennels he built himself.
Desmond Joseph Illingworth was born in Launceston on February 9 1925 and was the eldest of seven children. Des recalls helping his father with training the greyhounds and received one shilling in 1933 for four hours work, sitting on a box and shooing the hares at the Symmons Plains coursing.
The L.G.R.C. introduced a new race to the Tasmanian calendar in 1991 — the Illingworth Classic, which recognises the enormous input of the father and son Illingworths and as long as there is racing in Launceston there will be the Illingworth Classic.
Picture right Ollie Illingworth and Launceston Cup winner Win Sheen.